The Council shall consist of the

– Secretary to the Government of the Federation, who shall be the Chairperson;

-Head of the Civil Service of the Federation;

-Solicitor-General of the Federation and Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Justice;

-Permanent Secretaries from the Ministries and Offices responsible for – Defence, Interior, Finance, Budget and National Planning, Foreign Affairs, Information and Culture, Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA) Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs, Cabinet Affairs, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF), General Services, OSGF, Political and Economic Affairs Office, OSGF, State House;

-National Security Adviser; Chief of Defence Staff;

-Inspector-General of Police; Director General, National Intelligence Agency;

-Director General, State Security Services; Clerk of the National Assembly;

-Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court of Nigeria;

-and two representatives, to be nominated by the President-elect.

The Chairperson of the Council shall appoint for the Council, a Secretary, who will serve as the Head of the Secretariat.

The Secretary appointed under subparagraph (2) of this paragraph shall be of a rank of Permanent Secretary or a Special Adviser to the President or its equivalent.


Leave a Comment