The Federal Government has appointed Dr. Garba Abari as the new Director-General of the National Orientation Agency. The appointment was announced in Abuja on Wednesday by the Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed alongside that of the Chief Executives of the information-related parastatals under the Ministry of Information and Culture.

Dr. Garba Abari was born on the 15th of December 1955 at Potiskum, Yobe State. He had his early education at the central primary school and fika government secondary school in Potiskum. He holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Political Science from the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria (1979), a Masters degree in International Relations from the University of Kent, Canterbury (1982) and a M. Phil in Political Economy from the University of Jos in 1991 and a P.hD in Political Economy (1995). Over the period of 28 years since graduation, he has taught at the college of basic studies and the University of Maiduguri. Dr. Garba Abari is a senior lecturer in the Department of Politcal Science, University of Maiduguri. He has taught political economy, international economic relations and comparative politics at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels. He has a total of 18 publications to his credit in both National and International Journals. He is a member, Nigerian Political Science Association, NPSA, member, African Political Science Association, member, Nigerian Society of International Affairs, founding member, African Anti-Imperalist Youth Front, Founder, Nigeria/South Africa Friendship Association (1983). He is also Chairman, Independent Poverty Alleviation Initiative (IPAI-Nigeria) and National Coordinator, Anti-Debt Front. He is Executive Director, Abuja Policy Consulting LTD, Executive Director, Basic Projects LTD and a Member of the Nigerian Economic Summit Group.

The other newly appointed Chief Executives are:

1. Mr. Ishaq Modibo Kawu – Director-General, Nigerian Broadcasting Commission (NBC)

2. Mr. Mansur Liman – Director-General, Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN)

3. Mr. Yakubu Mohammed – Director-General, Nigerian Television Authority (NTA)

4. Mr. Bayo Onanuga – Managing Director, News Agency of Nigeria (NAN)

5. Mr. Osita Okechukwu – Director-General, Voice of Nigeria (VON)

The appointments take immediate effect.

Leave a Comment