The Nigerian Writers’ Award (ANA) held its 2nd edition of awards of excellence to different writers on Sunday February 19th, 2017 at the Ace Olivia, Lagos City Mall, Onikan, Lagos State.

ANA, a platform for rewarding excellence in writing features 100 influential Nigerian Writers under age 40 and the unveiling of Nigerian Writers’ Television with the theme: “Unity in Diversity”.

Speaking at the event, the Director, National Orientation Agency (NOA), Lagos State, Mr. Waheed Ishola congratulated the organizers for their thoughtfulness in creating the lofty initiatives.

He noted that the platform would encourage Young writers and promote creative writings as its being done in other clime. He used the forum to call on corporate bodies to support creative works by Nigerians instead of supporting foreign cultures and films that add no value to the society.

Anchoring on the Federal Government charge “Change Begins with Me”, the Director cautioned the organizers to take the issue of timing and punctuality very seriously adding that there is nothing like African time. He promised the Agency’s support in the forthcoming edition of the award ceremony.

The event was chaired by Senator Bode Olajumoke  and was assisted by Alhaji Jamiu Abiola; Asiwaju Lanre Gentry (CEO, La Veronique) Dr. Denja Abdullahi, President, Association of Nigeria Authors (ANA) and Lion Princess Ademola Ajejunmo (Nikki Fash Clothing) amongst others.

Leave a Comment